Previews
Upcoming match information

West Ham v Tottenham

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 13:30:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 08:52:18)

That's two clean sheets in a row for West Ham. OK, their opponents have been Huddersfield and WBA, but there is no doubt West Ham have tightened up as a team. They drew 0-0 away to WBA at the weekend, but West Ham were the better side, closer to the win. J Collins, defender, is now injured joining Lanzini and Fernandes on the sidelines, but M Noble is available again.

Tottenham could not break down a stubborn Swansea side at Wembley and they are without a home win after their three league games there. Away from home it has been a different story for Spurs with wins 2-0 and 3-0 against Newcastle and Everton. W Wanyama will miss also this game, but B Davies is back in contention.

Are the winning days against Tottenham over for the Hammers? Not necessarily, but at the moment I cannot motivate a bet on the home win. But for one thing of course. The huge odds!

The odds on the away win will not do.

-Chris


AS Roma v Udinese

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 15:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:25:19)

Dzeko scored two goals again and it was all too easy for Roma away to Benevento (4-0). Under, their Turkish forward, played the first 45 minutes of the game, but after a rather poor display he was replaced by El Shaarawy for the second half. Nainggolan has been an injury doubt, but he has been cleared to play. Florenzi, Manolas, De Rossi and Defrel, rested in midweek, could return to action tomorrow.

Udinese are 1-0-4 after five rounds of league football. They lost 2-3 at home to Torino in midweek. Jankto and Angela entered the game in the second half and Udinese were able to put some real pressure on Torino late on in the game, but Torino rode out the storm. Angella will replace the injured Danilo in their defence, Jankto,Behrami, Samir and possibly Bajic could start this time.

Roma will play in the Champions league next week and I can see their coach rotating his squad for this league game.

Likely home win, but the odds are so disappointing.

-Chris


Burnley v Huddersfield

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 08:54:54)

Do Burnley have the best defence in the league? It is a good question this season after their three away games vs Chelsea, Tottenham and Liverpool. None of the top teams have won their home games against Burnley this season. They started their season by selling their best defender M Keane to Everton, but it is the Everton defence that is leaking this season, not the Burnley defence.

Pope was their keeper once against Liverpool and he was saved by the wood work a couple of times. J Walters will need to be assessed.

Huddersfield were the better side at home to Leicester (1-1). They will miss their striker S Mounie again. La Parra and D Williams are injury doubts, but Depoitre will be OK.

Huddersfield are not exactly known to throw caution to the wind and it makes me wonder if there will be any goals in this fixture.

1-0 or 0-0.

-Chris


Everton v Bournemouth

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:05:28)

Goal shy offence, leaking defence and Koeman’s Everton have been the big underachievers so far this season. After their games last week, 0-3, 0-3 and 0-4 it cannot get any worse, I think. They did not deserve to lose 0-4 against Man United with three United goals arriving in the dying minutes of the game. Those late goals just typify their season and once again a Dutch coach is finding it hard in the Premier league. They at least defeated Sunderland in the cup with Calvert-Lewin scoring two of their three goals.

Stanislas is playing again for Bournemouth, back from his injury. Bournemouth were desperate for a win last week and it was their will power and superior motivation that proved decisive at home to Brighton (2-1). They have mostly disappointed this season, but it does not matter to me. No way that this out of form Everton should be priced as low as this 1.68.

How have the bookmakers figured it out?

Maybe Koeman will have his all important win, but I have to assess the odds on display, so no bet on Everton for this writer.

-Chris


Manchester City v Crystal Palace

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:07:21)

City are in their unstoppable mood, yes, it happens every year. Then Kun Aguero usually ends up on their injury list, things get tougher for City and so on. There is one difference this season. They have a striker almost as strong as Aguero and it is of course G Jesus. City are definitely better equipped this season and that is why they are everybody’s favourite to win the league. They scored ten goals last week, away from home, vs Feyenoord and Watford. Almost scary results, for the challenging teams that is.

Hodgson has a lot of work to do at Crystal Palace. The pressure on him is enormous, but not in this game.

Both M Sakho and P Souare made their come backs in a mid week cup game and Sakho could come in to contention for this match.

Home winner.

-Chris


Southampton v Manchester Utd

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:13:50)

There are no fire works when Pellegrino’s Southampton are playing, but they are what I would call a solid Premiership side. Van Dijk is ready and their chief in defence could be in line for his season debut in this match. They have a great player in their squad and it is their new man Lemina, who dominated against Crystal Palace. Also F Forster impressed between the sticks.

Man United will be without the injured P Pogba. United have only conceded in one of their five league games and it was in their last away game, at Stoke (2-2).

A side coached by Mourinho will never be as entertaining as a team coached by Guardiola and as a neutral, it is easy to favor Guardiola.

I can see this game being score less for quite some time, but then the United winning goal will probably arrive.

The 0-1 away win will be my call.

-Chris


Stoke v Chelsea

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:16:12)

In my opinion a team like Stoke should not lose to Newcastle, but that is Stoke, they are not as competitive as one would like to think. They are losing too many games and this I stated already last season. They also went down in a midweek cup game, 0-2 away to Bristol City

They have played two games at the Britannia Stadium this season, 1-0 vs Arsenal and 2-2 against Man United and I would not throw myself over the poor odds on the away win this time. R Shawcross is expected back in their defence for this game, but they are not allowed to use another defender, K Zouma

Chelsea will miss their suspended, ever present defender D Luiz this weekend and Pedro is injured. Hazard excelled in a recent cup game and maybe it is time for him to play from the start again.

Very short odds on the away win.

-Chris


Swansea v Watford

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:17:36)

So disappointing at home to Newcastle, Swansea picked themselves up against Tottenham. It was all about defending of course and they achieved their mission, as the match ended scoreless.

Visiting Wales and Swansea used to be quite an ordeal for their Premiership colleagues, but this season it has been a different story, as Swansea are without both points and goals at their own place. How strange can it be?

Talking about strange. What about Watford, so successful this season, but totally outclassed at the weekend going down 0-6 at home to a vibrant Man City side. Coach Silva was a calm man after the game, but he must have felt sorry for their fans. M Britos will be suspended again.

After a big loss a team usually will put a lot of focus on their defensive game and I do not expect an easy afternoon for Swansea.

Still the value is on the home win.

-Chris


Reading v Hull City

FBENG Championship > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:43:30)

I often have an interest in backing Reading in their home games and this 2.33 looks like a decent price on the home win. Both teams are on eight points and not for one minute I am thinking that their two coaches Stam and Slutskyi are happy with the start of the season.

Reading were not miles of reaching the Premiership last season, but this season they have only defeated Aston Villa and Birmingham, while Hull have only won against the two bottom clubs Burton and Bolton.

Reading lost a cup game earlier this week, 0-2 vs Swansea and coach Stam had changed his team in nine positions. What was good about the game was the return of their midfielder J Swift and also Obita played from the start. Both will be in contention for this fixture. Mo Barrow?

Hull were quite poor in the first half vs Sunderland, but they improved vastly in the second half (1-1). D Meyler entered the game and I think he will start tomorrow and maybe fit again F Campbell will as well.

Hull have managed to pick up one point from their four away games and I have no problems opposing the Tigers tomorrow.

Likely home win.

-Chris


Fulham v Middlesbrough

FBENG Championship > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 16:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:45:28)

These two teams, both expected to be top sides in the Championship, have already lost two league games which only goes to show how difficult this league is

Middlesbrough have lost two of their four away games and I will oppose them in this game. The exciting A Traore will sit out a suspension and R Gestede and M Braithwaite are injured for Boro.

Rui Fonte, the Fulham front man, was back from his injury last week and he played some minutes in their disappointing 1-2 loss for Fulham against Burton. Also J Graham and Y Mollo were placed on the bench.

Middlesbrough already played a game this week, away to Aston Villa in a cup game and the much changed Boro side won the match.

Fulham will bounce back from their poor show last week, at least if I will have it my way.

Backing Fulham.

-Chris


Spal v Napoli

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 18:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:26:58)

Two Milan penalties and Spal lost the match 0-2. They did not offer much offensively probably aware of their limitations. There are certain games they can win and they are not really going for it against teams like Milan and now Napoli. Borriello will return to their starting line up and one of Antenucci or Paloschi will join him upfront.Schiatarella and Costa will be back in their line up.

At the moment Napoli seem to be in a class of their own in Serie A, but there are no medals given at this stage of the season.

They have to defeat Feyenoord on Tuesday and could be that coach Sarri will be making one or two changes for this match. Injuries? Never at Napoli.

Very likely away win.

-Chris


Leicester v Liverpool

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 18:30:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:20:01)

 I have to say thank you after the Leicester cup win against Liverpool in midweek (2-0). Watching the first half of the game was an ordeal, as Liverpool totally dominated the match, without scoring. In the second half Leicester took over and their two goals arrived rather logically. Both teams fielded mixed sides.

J Vardy returned to training yesterday and I expect both Vardy and C Fuchs to be available for this league game. Vardy will have a fitness test, according to the latest reports.

D Lovren, E Can and J Matip are injury doubts for Liverpool and S Mane will be suspended for his last game tomorrow.

Liverpool are really struggling at the moment. There is a lot to say about their defensive performances and they keep on dominating their games, but the final ball continues to elude them. P Coutinho played in the first half in the cup. He looked good to start with, Liverpool looked like scoring, but it was all a mirage.

The odds will decide it for me once again, but I would prefer having Vardy in the Leicester starting line up.

Backing the outsider.

-Chris


Metz v Troyes

FBFRA Ligue 1 > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 20:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:41:08)

N Roux scored their winning goal last week, away to Angers and it was the first Metz victory of the season. When the starting line ups became official I was leaning towards the away win, but I chickened out. Two of the Metz players Dossevi and I Balliu were included in team of the week in France.

Both Assou-Ekotto and P Wollscheid, ex-Premiership players, will return for this match, but E Riviere, once at Newcastle, will not be fit to play.

Troyes lost their home game against Montpellier after a weak display and I do think, Troyes are the worst side in this league. Their defender Vizcarrondo will be suspended for this game.

Backing Metz.

-Chris


Juventus v Torino

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-23 20:45:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:28:35)

Juve are on maximum points, but they do not even pretend to be a team in top form. Allegri has been here before and he knows that the season is not a sprint. Cuadrado was their best player at home to Fiorentina (1-0 win), but Bentacur also impressed and their stand in keeper Szezsny made a good impression. Mandzukic, who scored their goal, was much better that Higuain, who is going through a barren spell. Buffon, Chiellini, Alex Sandro, Lichtsteiner and Pjanic will all be back in contention for this derby game.

I cannot recall when Torino enjoyed such a great start to their season. They are 3-2-0 so far and their constant problems in their away games seem to have vanished. Belotti will once again be backed up by I Falque, Ljajic and Niang. Molinaro will start, De Silvestri and Baselli as well, but Bareca is injured.

Juventus have the Champions League to think about, but surely they will start with their absolutely strongest starting eleven for this derby game. A win against the city rivals is more important to their fans than a win against Olympiakos.

Still, the odds on the home win are not good enough.

-Chris


Sampdoria v AC Milan

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 12:30:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:30:38)

After a poor first half of their game against Verona the Sampdoria coach sent on Zapata and Ramirez for the second half. Sampdoria improved vastly, they probably should have won the match, hut the nearest they got to a goal was a Zapata hit at the wood work late in the game. I have to believe that Zapata will play from the start in this game alongside Quagliarella and Barreto will also play again, maybe also Ramirez will be recalled.

Milan have only been tested once this season and it was against Lazio. It did not go so well with Lazio winning the match 4-1. Suso and Bonaventura will back up their front man Kalinic. I do not really know how good they are, or how strong they are going to be and at this very moment I find it more interesting to back the unbeaten Sampdoria.

Backing the great odds on the home win.

-Chris


Cagliari v Chievo

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 15:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:32:30)

I do not think that Cagliari can have any complaints about their midweek home loss against Sassuolo (0-1). The Cagliari keeper Cragno saved a first half penalty. Maybe one can say that Sassuolo, without a league win, wanted the three point so much more. Pavoletti, their front man, is a slight doubt and should he not make it both Sau and Farias will play from the start.

Chievo were in trouble 0-1 down away to Genoa, but their coach made a few changes and their equaliser arrived rather logically. Pelissier, who was one of the second half substitutes, had a great chance in the dying minutes to win it for Chievo, but the Genoa keeper was up for the task. Inglese will most likely be their lone striker supported by Castro and Birsa.

I cannot really see Cagliari losing two home games in five days.

Backing Cagliari.

-Chris


Crotone v Benevento

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 15:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:34:50)

The fact that these two sides are struggling big time comes as no surprise. I happened to watch Crotone in their last home game, vs Inter and I am building a case for the home win in this fixture based on the Crotone performance against Inter. The score line was 0-0 and Crotone dominated in the second half and only an extra ordinary save from the Inter keeper Handanovic prevented Crotone from taking the lead. They were punished for their profligacy in the last minutes of the game with Inter scoring two very late goals.

Tumminello, the new Crotone striker, scored their goal away to Atalanta in midweek (1-5) and he will be joined by Budimir in their front line. Mandragora will start. Benevento scored two own goals in their 0-4 loss against Roma and changes will be made to their line up. Coda and Iemello will be their front duo.

Likely home win.

-Chris


Inter Milan v Genoa

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 15:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:36:05)

Have they already gone out of form? Inter have been extremely lucky in their last two games, both away fixtures, and their four points achieved at Crotone and Bologna could easily have seen nil points. Squad wise they look very much OK, again, I must say. Eder could start this time, as both J Mario and Brozovic have disappointed lately. Nagatomo is also a likely starting player along with Vecino and Borja Valero.

The Genoa coach had changed his side in nine positions at home to Chievo. They were on course for a much needed win, but Chievo came back (1-1) and finished the game the stronger side.

It looks like Genoa have to manage without their two forwards Pandev and Lapadula again. Pellegri from the start again probably flanked by Ricci and Taarabt

Very likely home win.

-Chris


Verona v Lazio

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 15:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:37:49)

Conceding too many goals Verona had to change their tactics and their more defensive approach paid off at home to Sampdoria (0-0). More of the same for this game, I presume, Souprayen will be back from his suspension. Verde, Pazzini and one of Kean or Valoti will form their offensive line.

Lazio lost player after player to injuries at home to Napoli and there was no way of stopping the Napoli goals. In the lead 1-0 Lazio had to stomach a 1-4 loss. Three defensive players De Vrij, Bastos and Basta were forced to leave the match and Lazio finished the game with only ten men. Milinkovic-Savic also suffered an injury and I doubt that any of these four players will be available for this game. Well, Milinkovic-Savic is not ruled out.

What kind of defence will Lazio play with? Radu, I guess, Luis Felipe or Marusic and then L Leiva could be used as their central defender. Murgia may earn a starting role together with Parolo in their midfield.

Better chance than usual for Verona? Sure, but do they have enough in their tool box, that is the question.

Well, I will not back the away win.

-Chris.


Brighton v Newcastle

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 17:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:21:50)

Bruno and G Bong are expected back for the home side and both P Gross and I Brown have been declared fit to play. Only Sidwell, B Kayal and S Baldock are sidelined at the moment. I recall this fixture last season. Brighton were in the lead, but Newcastle turned the game in their favour in the second half.

Newcastle have won their last three league games and it is quite remarkable, at least in my opinion. I rate the Brighton squad ahead of Newcastle, but I admit, the Newcastle coach Benitez wins the battle of the two coaches.

I prefer the home win alternative.

-Chris


Sassuolo v Bologna

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 18:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:38:51)

They missed a penalty, but the decisive Sassuolo goal arrived and they were full value for their three points away to Cagliari. Matri, who replaced the injured Berardi scored their goal and he will continue upfront alongside Politano in a 3-5-2 formation. Duncan in for Missiroli, probably.

Bologna were much better than Inter, but as long as you are in a 1-0 lead you are always vulnerable and Icardi equalised for Inter with a late penalty.

They risk being without Krejci, Di Francesco and Torosidis again. If Di Francesco should not make it Palacio will play from the start instead. Maietta is fit at last and he could start in their defence.

1X game.

-Chris


Las Palmas v Leganes

FBSPA Primera División > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 18:30:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:47:32)

Leganes are one point ahead of Las Palmas, but believe me when I say that Las Palmas have only faced top teams, Malaga aside, while Leganes have been up against teams closer to the bottom or definite bottom teams.

Leganes started the season by winning their first two games 1-0, but Las Palmas have picked up some form in their last games. OK, they lost away to Sevilla in midweek, but they were only some ten minutes from drawing the match.

L Remy, who has scored as a second half substitute, was not fit to play against Sevilla, but I should think that he will return for this game and O Tannane as well. Dani Castellanos, wing back, and Halilovic, offensive midfielder, will definitely miss this game.

Omar Ranos, midfielder, will not make it for Leganes.

I saw Las Palmas winning their last home game, 1-0 vs Athletic Bilbao and what I saw from that game they will have enough at their disposal to dismiss this Legane side.

Backing Las Palmas.

-Chris


Fiorentina v Atalanta

FBITA Serie A > Regular Season-17

2017-09-24 20:45:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:39:56)

Looking like an organised team again Fiorentina had to accept losing 0-1 away to Juventus. They were not exactly creating tons of scoring chances, if you know what I mean. Badelj will be suspended for this game. Sanchez could start instead and Gil Dias wil probably get his chance.

Lack of organisation never was a problem for Atalanta and against Crotone in midweek they also demonstrated their goal prowess winning the match 5-1.

They are good Atalanta, ask the Everton players, but this season they also have to focus on their European commitments and in a few days they are off the Lyon for a very difficult Europa League fixture. Coach Gasperini is expected to change things around and players like Palamino, Cornelius, De Roon and Kurtic may start in this match.

Advantage Fiorentina, I think.

-Chris


Arsenal v West Bromwich Albion

FBENG Premier League > Regular Season-17

2017-09-25 21:00:00 (This report was created at 2017-09-22 09:23:15)

We were all happy, were we not? stating that Arsenal are harder to beat when Özil is not playing. He was not fit to play against Chelsea and I have rarely seen Arsenal so compact, so hard to penetrate. I should think that coach Wenger will always play with Özil just to prove us so called “besserwissers” wrong. Özil could return for this game, but D Wehlbeck is injured.

J Livermore, rested at the weekend, will return to the WBA midfield and their veteran defender G McAuley was back playing for WBA in a mid week cup game. C Brunt will be assessed, but O Burke has been cleared to play.

WBA look rather lacklustre at the moment and you would expect Arsenal to win this game.

Likely home win.

-Chris